Accessibility links

Breaking News

20 Horses Entered in Kentucky Derby

A full field of 20 three-year-old horses is entered for Saturday's Kentucky Derby, the first jewel of U.S. horse racing's Triple Crown at Churchill Downs, Kentucky.

Favorite Brother Derek trained by Dan Hendricks, is attempting to become the first California-bred horse to win the Derby since Decidedly in 1962. The colt is 3-for-3 this year and is coming off a win at the Santa Anita Derby.

Meanwhile, veteran trainer Bob Baffert has three horses in the race - Bob and John the Wood Memorial winner, Sinister Minister who took the Blue Grass Stakes and Point Determined, the runner-up at Santa Anita. Baffert is going for his fourth Kentucky Derby win.

Two Hall of Fame trainers will not have entries in Saturday's race - Nick Zito, who entered five horses last year, and D. Wayne Lukas, a four-time winner at Churchill Downs.

This is only the second time since 1984 that 20 horses have been entered in the Kentucky Derby. No horse has won all three Triple Crown races - the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness and the Belmont Stakes - since Affirmed in 1978.

Some information for this report was provided by AP.