Accessibility links

Breaking News

Big 3 Avoid Each Other in Euro 2004 Football Playoff Draw

The big three teams in the Euro 2004 playoffs - Spain, the Netherlands and Turkey - avoided each other in Monday's draw in Frankfurt, Germany. The winners of the home and away legs will join 11 other teams which have already qualified for the tournament June 12 through July 4 in Portugal.

Spain will host Norway, the Netherlands will travel to Scotland and Turkey will visit Latvia in the openers. In other playoff matches, Russia entertains Wales while Slovenia visits neighboring Croatia. The first leg matches are scheduled for November 15-16, while the return legs will be played November 18-19.

The venues, the dates and the kickoff times will be set by October 20.

The teams that have already qualified for the Euro 2004 tournament are France, Denmark, the Czech Republic, Sweden, Germany, Greece, England, Bulgaria, Italy, Switzerland and host Portugal.