There will be no Triple Crown winner again this year after "Bernardini" won the Preakness Stakes horse race in Baltimore, Maryland after Kentucky Derby winner "Barbaro" suffered a career-ending injury.

Barbaro was the favorite in the nine-horse field, and broke through the gate early. The race was restarted, but jockey Edgar Prado pulled Barbaro up before the first turn. Track veterinarians say the horse has fractured his right rear leg and will undergo surgery.

With Barbaro out of the race, Bernardini, owned by the Sultan of Dubai, took the lead in the final stretch and won by more than six lengths. "Sweetnorthernsaint" was second with "Hemmingway's Key" third.

The final race of the Triple Crown Series, the Belmont Stakes, is June 10 in New York. No horse has won all three races, the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness, and the Belmont, since "Affirmed" in 1978.