Colombia has signed a free trade agreement with the four countries that make up the European Free Trade Association, EFTA.

A statement from the association says the Colombian trade minister, Luis Guillermo Plata, and his partners from Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Iceland and Norway signed the agreement Tuesday in Geneva.

Officials say the agreement covers Colombia's industrial and agricultural exports.  EFTA ministers said they are confident the new trade opportunities with Colombia will contribute to economic growth and development among the participating countries.

EFTA was founded in 1960 and has 17 ongoing free trade treaties with countries ranging from Canada to Egypt.

Some information for this report was provided by AFP and Reuters.