The defending champion Netherlands has blanked Britain, 4-0, and Australia beat host Malaysia, 2-0, on the opening day of the Champions Trophy men's field hockey tournament in Kuala Lumpur.

Rob Reckers scored twice for the Dutch (50th and 64th minutes) while Teun de Nooijer and Ronald Brouwer had the other goals. The Dutch are trying to win this tournament for the ninth time.

Australia, the world's top-ranked team, got goals from Russell Ford and Travis Brooks (in the 19th and 62nd minutes) in its 2-0 win over Malaysia.

Also Thursday, Oliver Korn scored two goals (in the seventh and 69th minutes) as Germany defeated Pakistan, 5-2. South Korea and Spain played to a 2-2 draw.

The eight-team tournament features the top six field hockey teams in the world. Five of the teams - Australia, the Netherlands, South Korea, Spain and Pakistan - have qualified for next year's Olympics in Beijing. Three others - Germany, Britain and Malaysia - face qualifying early in 2008.

Some information for this report provided by AFP.