El Hadji Diouf of Senegal has won his second consecutive African Footballer of the Year award.

The peroxide blonde, Liverpool striker captured the prize at the annual African soccer awards banquet April 1 in Johannesburg. Diouf's teammate on the "Lions of Teranga" of Senegal, Pape Bouba Diop, and Ahmed "Mido" Hossam of Egypt, were the two other contenders for the award.

"Mido" had reason to celebrate, though. He won Africa's Young Player of the Year award.

Diouf's prize capped a wonderful evening for Senegal, which won six of the 11 awards handed out. Senegal's Tony Sylva won the Best Goalkeeper Award, while Frenchman Bruno Metsu, who guided Senegal to the quarterfinals of last year's World Cup, was named Coach of the Year.

Here is the complete list of award winners in Johannesburg:

Footballer of the Year: El Hadji Diouf (Liverpool and Senegal)

Young player of the Year: Ahmed 'Mido' Hossam (Ajax Amsterdam and Egypt)

Goalkeeper of the Year: Tony Sylva (Senegal)

Coach of the Year: Bruno Metsu (Senegal)

Club of the Year: Zamalek (Egypt)

Best (Televised) Goal: Pape Bouba Diop (Senegal v Uruguay)

Team of the Year: Senegal

Women's Player of the Year: Alberta Sackey (Ghana)

Best African Champions League Player: Hicham Aboucherouane (Raja Casablanca, Morocco)

Youth Development Award: Ghana Football Association

Merit Achievement Award: Mwade Wade (Senegal)