A 42-member panel has chosen world No. 1 men's tennis player Roger Federer of Switzerland as the Laureus Sportsman of the Year for the third year in a row.

The 25-year-old Federer has dominated men's tennis in the last year, winning three Grand Slams in 2006 and adding the Australian Open in January for his 10th career major championship. He is the first athlete to win the award three times.

Russian pole vaulter Yelena Isinbayeva was named Sportswoman of the Year, while Italy won the World Team of the Year award after winning the World Cup in Germany.

American tennis player Serena Williams won the Comeback of the Year award for winning the Australian Open after a long injury layoff. French tennis star Amelie Mauresmo earned the Breakthrough of the Year award by winning her first Grand Slam titles at the 2006 Australian Open and Wimbledon.

Spanish soccer team FC Barcelona won the Spirit of Sport award, while the Laureus Lifetime Achievement award went to former German football great Franz Beckenbauer.

Kelly Slater of the United States won for Action Sportsperson of the Year, while German skier Martin Braxenthaler was named Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability.

Some information for this report was provided by AP and Reuters.