World number one men's tennis player Roger Federer of Switzerland has won the Australian Open championship in Melbourne, his 10th career Grand Slam title.

The top seed and defending champion beat 10th seeded Chilean challenger Fernando Gonzalez in Sunday's final in straight sets (7-6, 6-4, 6-4) for his third Australian Open crown.

Federer is only the fifth man in tennis history to win 10 major tournament titles.

The Swiss star did not lose a single set the entire tournament. He is the first player to do so in 27 years (since Sweden's Bjorn Borg at the 1980 French Open).

American Serena Williams won her third career women's Australian Open title Saturday.

Federer has dominated men's professional tennis in recent years. In 2006, he played in all four Grand Slam tournament finals, winning three. The only major event Federer has never won is the French Open.

On the way to playing in his first Grand Slam final, Gonzalez eliminated some of the best players in the world, including number two Rafael Nadal of Spain, number five James Blake of the United States, and former world number one Lleyton Hewitt of Australia.

Some information for this report was provided by Reuters.