Two players will be inducted into the ice Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto Monday. They are goaltender Grant Fuhr, the first black player to be inducted, and center Pat LaFontaine.

Fuhr played goalie for the Edmonton Oilers from 1984 to 1990 and was part of a team that won five Stanley Cup championships during that time. In 19 NHL seasons, he played in six All-Star games and won the Vezina Trophy in 1988 as the league's best goalie.

The others from Fuhr's Edmonton team already in the Hall of Fame are the legendary Wayne Gretzky, Jari Kurri and general manager-coach Glen Sather. Fuhr also played for Toronto, Buffalo, Los Angeles, Saint Louis and Calgary. He retired in 2000.

Half of Pat LaFontaine's 16-year career was spent with the New York Islanders. The goal scorer joined them in 1984 after they won their fourth straight Stanley Cup championship. Though he never won a Stanley Cup, LaFontaine scored 40 goals in a season six straight years. He goes into the Hall after scoring 468 goals and totaling 1,013 points.

Two other notables are going to the Hockey Hall of Fame, one owner and one coach.

Detroit Red Wings owner Mike Ilitch bought the team in 1982 for $8 million. Since then he has turned the Red Wings into one of the most successful NHL teams. Over two decades the Red Wings have won three Stanley Cups, four Western Conference championships and nine division titles. In 1991 Ilitch won the Lester Patrick Trophy for outstanding service to hockey in the United States.

Brian Kilrea played the game but his greatest success came from coaching in junior hockey. After taking over the Ottawa 67's in the 1974-75 season, Kilrea guided Ottawa to the Memorial Cup championship in 1984 and 1999. Kilrea is the winningest coach in Canadian junior hockey history and last March he recorded his 1,000 career victory. He is also a four-time coach of the year for the Ontario Hockey League.