The premier honor in U.S. college football, the Heisman Trophy, has been awarded to running back Reggie Bush of the University of Southern California.

Bush rushed for more than 1,6oo yards and led the nation this year in all-purpose yardage with an average of 217.6 yards per game. He is the fifth running back from USC to win the award, which was presented Saturday evening in New York.

He defeated his teammate, quarterback Matt Leinart, and Texas quarterback Vince Young to take home the prestigious award. Leinart won the award last year, making the two football stars only the third set of teammates to win the award in consecutive years.

The three finalists will be playing for the National Title when No. 1 USC, 12-0, meets No. 2 Texas, 12-0, in the Rose Bowl January 4.

This is the seventh time a USC athlete has won the Heisman, tying the Trojans with Notre Dame for the all-time lead.

Some information for this report provided by AP.