There will be no Triple Crown winner again this year in U.S. horse racing after "Curlin" edged Kentucky Derby winner "Street Sense" at the finish line to win the 132nd Preakness Stakes in Baltimore, Maryland.

Street Sense and jockey Calvin Borel were leading coming into the final few meters, but Curlin with Robby Albarado aboard caught Street Sense and won by a nose. Just three races earlier, Albarado had leapt from his mount as he tried to avoid a fallen horse.

Kentucky Derby runner up "Hard Spun" finished third, fourth lengths behind the winner.

The third jewel of the Triple Crown - the Belmont Stakes - is June 9 in Elmont, New York. The last horse to win all three races - the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness and the Belmont Stakes - was "Affirmed" in 1978.

Some information for this report provided by AP and AFP.