The second annual International Cricket Council awards will be held in Sydney, Australia on October 11. The event is scheduled three days before the start of the inaugural Super Series Test in Sydney, so it is expected to be attended by the world's top cricketers.

The inaugural event was held last year in London, where India's Rahul Dravid was named Player of the Year and England's Andrew Flintoff was elected player of the year in one-day internationals.

ICC chief Malcolm Speed said there will be seven player-related awards and "the winners will be selected by a voting academy comprising many of the greats of the game." Team awards will be picked by an elite selection panel.

Speed called the awards ceremony "the 'Oscars' of international cricket."