World record holder Colin Jackson of Britain has won the men's 110-meter hurdles race and claimed his fourth consecutive title at the European Athletics Championships in Munich, Germany.

Jackson, 35, edged Latvia's Stanislav Olijars in the final five meters of the race, winning in 13.11 seconds. Olijars was .11 back with Polish runner Artur Kohutek taking the bronze medal.

Meanwhile, Marta Dominguez of Spain won the women's 5,000 meters race ahead of Ireland's Sonia O'Sullivan, finishing in 15:14.76 minutes. O'Sullivan was .08 back.

In the men's 3,000 meter steeplechase, Spain's Antonio Jimenez edged European record holder Simon Vroemen at the finish line to take the gold medal in 8:24.34 minutes. The Dutch runner took the silver medal with Luis Miguel Martin of Spain third.

Italian veteran Maria Guida won the women's marathon, finishing the 42-kilometer run in 2:26:05 hours. Germany's Luminita Zaituc won the silver medal, 53 seconds later and another German, Sonja Oberem won the bronze.

Britain's Ashia Hansen won the women's triple jump with a total distance of 15 meters. Heli Koivula of Finland took the silver medal, 17 centimeters back (14.83) while the bronze went to Russia's Yelena Oleynikova (15.54).

Russian Irina Korzhanenko won the women's shot put with a toss of 20-meters, 64 centimeters. Vita Pavlysh won the silver and the bronze went to Russian Svetlana Krivelyova.

Israel's Alex Averbukh won his country's first major athletics title when he won the men's pole vault by clearing 5.85 meters. His triumph came nearly 30 years after 11 Israeli athletes were killed in a Palestinian terrorist attack at the 1972 Olympics in Munich.

Lars Borgeling of Germany won the silver medal and Tim Lobinger of Germany took the bronze.

At the Asian Athletics Championships in Colombo, Sri Lanka, home sprinter Susanthika Jayasinghe and Saudi Arabia's Jamal Abdul al-Safaar have emerged as the fastest runners on the continent.

Jayasinghe, a controversial runner who won the 200-meters silver medal at the 1997 world championships in Greece, won the women's 100-meters race in 11.29 seconds. China's Qin Wangping took the silver medal and Uzbek runner Lyubov Perepelove won the bronze.

In the men's 100-meters, Al-Safaar retained the gold medal when he finished in 10.43 seconds. Kazakhstan's Gennadiy Chernovol won the silver and the bronze went to Saudi Arabia's Salem Mubarak al-Yami.

In other men's events, Fawzi al-Shammari of Kuwait won the 400-meters race in 45.21 seconds. Khamis Abdulla of Qatar won gold in the men's 3,000 meter steeplechase (8:15.80).

Elichi Yoshizawa of Japan won the men's 20-kilometer walk in 1:26:51 hours. Another Japanese athlete, Koji Murofushi won the men's hammer throw with a toss of 80.45 meters.

In women's competition, Tatyana Roslanova of Kazakhstan won the 400-meters race in 52.61seconds. Ham Pong-sil of North Korea won the women's 10,000 meters in 34:44.92 minutes.

Tatiana Efimenko of Kyrgystan won the high jump gold medal with a leap of 1.92 meters. Gao Shuying of China won the pole vault by clearing 4.20 meters.