Key Points of the New Travel Restriction Executive Order

  • Bars travelers from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen to the United States for three months
  • Bars all refugees for four months
  • Removes Iraq from list of countries whose citizens and nationals cannot enter US
  • Includes a grace period before it takes effect on March 16
  • Does not affect permanent legal US residents
  • Does not affect travelers who had valid visas as of Jan. 27, 2016
  • Removes earlier provision indefinitely barring Syrian refugees from the US
  • Removes previous language giving preference to "religious minorities"