Leaders of 12 former Soviet republics have signed agreements on reforming the Commonwealth of Independent States.

Russian President Vladimir Putin announced the decisions at the Commonwealth summit in Kazan, the capital of Russia's Tatarstan Republic.  Kazan is celebrating its one thousand-year anniversary.

Mr. Putin said all the countries of the Commonwealth are interested in maintaining an integrated commonwealth, but have expressed hope in making the work of the alliance more effective.  He said the leaders also adopted programs on dealing with illegal migration and fighting terrorism.

Presidents of 11 Soviet republics are in Kazan for the meeting.  Turkmenistan's Deputy Prime Minister Aganiyaz Akyev is representing his country.

Some information for this report provided by AP.