Almost 20 years after scoring his controversial "Hand of God" goal against England in the 1986 World Cup quarterfinals, Argentine football legend Diego Maradona has finally admitted he intentionally struck the ball with his hand.

Speaking on his television talk show Monday night, the 45-year-old Maradona admitted he had punched the ball into the net with his hand when he realized he could not head it past England's tall goalkeeper, Peter Shilton.

Referees allowed the goal despite protests by England. Argentina went on to win the match 2-1 and eliminate England on the way to winning the World Cup.

Maradona said he waited for his team to congratulate him after the goal, and when no one came he told them "Come hug me or the referee isn't going to allow it."

Some information for this report provided by AP and AFP.