Australian cyclist Robbie McEwen has captured his third stage win at this year's Tour de France, but American Lance Armstrong retained the overall lead.

McEwen won the 173.5 kilometer 13th stage in a massive sprint finish, crossing the line in three hours, 43 minutes, 14 seconds. Countryman Stuart O'Grady finished second in the mostly flat ride, while American Fred Rodriguez was third.

Armstrong crossed the line 33rd, as the 101 riders in the front pack were all credited with the same time. The six-time champion leads Dutch rider Mickael Rasmussen by 0:38 seconds in the overall standings. Frenchman Christophe Moreau is third overall, more than 2:30 minutes behind Armstrong.

The Tour moves into the grueling Pyrenees stages Saturday with a 220.5-kilometer ride (from Agde to Ax-3 Domaines) that includes a climb up the 2 km high Port de Pailheres. The race ends in Paris July 24.

Some information for this report provided by AP