The National Football League playoffs are set to kick off next week with the conclusion of the regular season.

The lowly Detroit Lions upset the Dallas Cowboys, 39-31, to complete the postseason lineup in the National Conference. The Cowboys loss Sunday gave the East division title to the Philadelphia Eagles, while Dallas and division rival New York Giants are the wildcard teams. The Giants beat the Washington Redskins on Saturday, 34-28.

The Chicago Bears had earlier won the North division and are the top seed. They lost 26-7 to the Green Bay Packers late Sunday in a game with no playoff implications.  Brett Favre led the Packers to victory in what may have been his last game in a stellar career that will place him in the Hall of Fame. 

The resurgent New Orleans Saints are the South division champions while the Seattle Seahawks claimed the West.

In the American Conference, the San Francisco 49ers ended the playoff hopes of the Broncos with a 26-23 overtime victory in Denver. The Broncos' loss handed the final wildcard slot to the Kansas City Chiefs, who were 35-30 winners over the Jacksonville Jaguars.

The San Diego Chargers are the top seed from the West, while the New England Patriots topped the East, the Baltimore Ravens claimed the North and the Indianapolis Colts won the South. The New York Jets defeated the lowly Oakland Raiders, 23-3, to earn a wildcard spot.

Elsewhere in the NFL Sunday:

Pittsburgh Steelers 23, Cincinnati Bengals 17;

St. Louis Rams 41, Minnesota Vikings 21;

Houston Texans 14, Cleveland Browns 6;

Carolina Panthers 31, New Orleans Saints 21;

New England Patriots 40, Tennessee Titans 23;

Seattle Seahawks 23, Tampa Bay Buccaneers 7;

Indianapolis Colts 27, Miami Dolphins 22;

Philadelphia Eagles 24, Atlanta Falcons 17;

San Diego Chargers 27, Arizona Cardinals 20;

Baltimore Ravens 19, Buffalo Bills 7.