The last 2005 Nobel Prize, the literature prize, will be announced Thursday in Sweden as controversy still rages over last year's winner.

Oddsmakers say the favorites for the 2005 prize include American authors Joyce Carol Oates and Philip Roth; Syrian poet Ali Ahmad Said, known as Adonis; and Korean poet Ko Un.

The winner gets a $1.3 million prize.

Earlier this week, a long-time member of the Swedish Academy which awards the literature prize, writer Knut Ahnlund, resigned over the choice of last year's winner, Austrian author Elfriede Jelinek.

He called her work a "mass of text that appears shoveled together without a trace of artistic structure".

Some information for this report provided by AP