President Bush has announced the members of a delegation to represent the U.S. at the inauguration of Benin's President-elect Thomas Yay Boni.

On Monday, the president said Karen Hughes, the Undersecretary of State for Public Affairs would lead the delegation.

Boni will be sworn into office Thursday. He is the former head of the West African Development Bank, and ran as an independent candidate promising to fight corruption and poverty.

He succeeds 72-year-old president Mathieu Kerekou, who was prevented from seeking re-election by term limits and an age restriction.

Accompanying Hughes in the U.S. inaugural delegation will be Wayne Neill, the U.S. ambassador to the Republic of Benin, former ambassador Ruth Davis, and Ward Brehm, Chairman of the African Development Foundation.

Some information for this report was provided by AFP.