Danish cyclist Michael Rasmussen has won the eighth stage of the Tour de France to take over the yellow jersey of the overall race leader.

Rasmussen was part of a breakaway group halfway through Sunday's 165-kilometer stage through the Alps between Le Grand-Bornand and Tignes. But he outraced the lead pack on the final climb, crossing the finish line in four hours, 49 minutes and 40 seconds.

That was two minutes and 47 seconds ahead of Iban Mayo of Spain, who finished in second place. Another Spanish rider, Alejandro Valverde, was third, three minutes and 12 seconds back.

Linus Gerdemann of Germany, who is making his Tour debut and was the overall leader coming into the eighth stage, is in second place 43 seconds behind Rasmussen. Iban Mayo is third overall, two minutes and 39 seconds back.

Some information for this report was provided by AFP.