Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) Facts

  • Includes China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan
  • India, Iran, Mongolia, Pakistan have observer status
  • SCO has observer status at United Nations and Association of Southeastern Asian Nations
  • While the organization's major focus is security issues, members also coordinate on politics, trade, science, and the environment
  • Member states occupy more than 30 million square kilometers
  • Member states are home to around 1.5 billion people - a quarter of the planet's population
Source: SCO website, UN, ASEAN