Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar has been elected president of India's cash-rich cricket board, ending years of control by Jagmohan Dalmiya and his supporters.

Pawar defeated Dalmiya's nominee and outgoing president Ranbir Singh Mahendra by 20 votes to 11. Pawar had lost to Mahendra last year by only one vote.

Tuesday's voting was conducted in the eastern Indian city of Calcutta - also known as Kokata - by retired bureaucrat T. S. Krishnamurthy, on the orders of India's Supreme Court. It was to have been held in September but was put off due to legal wrangles.

Pawar's supporters were also elected to the posts of secretary, joint secretary and treasurer of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Pawar said his "immediate priority would to be to improve cricket infrastructure throughout the country."

Some information for this report provided by AFP and AP.