Pakistan's election commission has announced the final list of three candidates for the upcoming presidential election.

The commission said Saturday regional and national lawmakers will be able to choose from Pakistan Peoples Party co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari, retired judge Said-uz Zaman Siddiqui and Mushahid Hussain Sayed.

Siddiqui is aligned with the Pakistan Muslim League-N party of former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, while Sayed represents the party of former President Pervez Musharraf.

Mr. Musharraf resigned last week following a series of carefully orchestrated no-confidence votes in parliament.

He lost public support after he declared a state of emergency and fired several judges who planned to rule on the legitimacy of his presidency.

The election is set for September 6.

Some information for this report was provided by AFP and Reuters.