San Antonio Spurs' Manu Ginobili, left, Tony Parker (9) and Bruce Bowen, right, celebrate with the NBA Championship trophy, Thursday
The San Antonio Spurs have won the National Basketball Association championship with a Game Seven victory over the defending champion Detroit Pistons, 81-74 Thursday night.

In a low scoring game that featured blistering defense by both teams, the Spurs won the best of seven series 4-3 to capture their third NBA title in the last seven years.

Tim Duncan led the Spurs with 25 points and 11 rebounds and won his third Most Valuable Player award. Duncan joins Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan and Shaquille O'Neal as the only players to win the MVP trophy three times in championship series play. Jordan won the MVP award six times.

Richard Hamilton paced the Pistons with 15 points, Chauncey Billups pumped in 13 and Ben Wallace added 12 points and 11 rebounds.

Some information for this report provided by AP, AFP and Reuters.