Davis Cup tennis officials have announced the players nominated by Argentina, Australia, Russia and the United States to take part in the semi-final ties September 22 to 24.

Argentina will host Australia in Buenos Aires, where the best-of-five match series will be contested outdoors on clay. Argentine captain Alberto Mancini has named David Nalbandian, Juan Ignacio Chela, Jose Acasuso and Agustin Calleri to his squad.

Australian captain John Fitzgerald has replied by selecting Lleyton Hewitt, Mark Philippoussis, Wayne Arthurs and Paul Hanley.

Russia hosts the other semi-final, which will be played in Moscow on an indoor clay court. Shamil Tarpischev will captain a Russian team comprising Nikolay Davydenko, Marat Safin, Mikhail Youzhny and Dmitry Tursunov.

They will face the Patrick McEnroe-led United States squad of Andy Roddick, James Blake and the world number-one doubles team of brothers Bob and Mike Bryan.

Some information for this report provided by AP.