Two Spaniards, Carlos Sainz and Isidre Esteve Pujol, have won the car and motorcycle divisions in the 12th stage of the Dakar Rally, a 484-kilometer ride between Ayoun, Mauritania and Kayes, Mali.

In the car division, Sainz, a former world champion, drove his Volkswagen through the timed section in 2:58:56. Carlos Sousa of Portugal in another Volkswagen was second, 03:53 back. Defending champion Luc Alphand of France was third in a Mitsubishi (04:52 back).

Mitsubishi driver Stephane Peterhansel of France retained the overall lead, 06:29 ahead of Alphand.

In the motorcycle division, Pujol rode his KTM to the win in 3:34:46.  Paulo Goncalves of Portugal on a Honda was second, 03:03 back. Spain's Marc Coma remains the overall leader nearly one hour ahead of Cyril Despres of France. Both are riding KTMs.

The Rally heads into Senegal Friday with a 458-kilometer ride from Kayes to Tambacounda that includes a 260-kilometer timed stage. The Rally ends Sunday in Dakar, Senegal.

Some information for this report provided by Reuters and AFP.