The European Football Union, UEFA, has awarded the 2006 Under-21 European championship to Portugal, with the Netherlands set to host the tournament in 2007.

UEFA said Portugal's highly successful hosting of the 2004 European championships helped the decision. UEFA named Porto, Guimares, Braga, Aveiro, Agueda and Barcelos as provisional venues for the U-21 tournament.

In addition to Portugal, defending champion Italy, Germany, Denmark, France, Ukraine, the Netherlands and Serbia and Montenegro will participate.

The Dutch were chosen to host the 2007 tournament, the first year the event will not be held in even-numbered years. UEFA moved the tournament to odd-numbered years to avoid scheduling conflicts with the European championships and the World Cup.

Some information for this report provided by AP.