Four-time champion Ari Vatanen of Finland has won the 14th stage of the Dakar Rally while Brazilian Jean De Azevedo won the motorcycle section.

Vatanen, in a Nissan, captured his 51st career stage win in four hours, 50 minutes, eight seconds. Frenchman Bruno Saby in a Volkswagen was second, nine minutes, 16 seconds back. Giniel De Villiers of South Africa was third in a Nissan, 11 minutes, 45 seconds back.

Stephane Peterhansel of France remains the overall leader, more than 26 minutes ahead Luc Alphand.

In the motorcycle section, Jean De Azevedo, riding a KTM, finished in five hours, 10 minutes, 56 seconds.

Frenchman David Fretigne was second with Chris Blais of the United States third. French rider Cyril Despres on a KTM remains the overall leader ahead of Marc Coma of Spain and South African Alfie Cox.

Saturday's penultimate stage covers 236 kilometers, from Tambacounda to Dakar, Senegal. The nearly nine thousand kilometer rally ends Sunday in Dakar.

Some information for this report provided by AFP.