Dutch cyclist Pieter Weening has won the eighth stage of the Tour de France, but six-time champion Lance Armstrong of the United States remains the overall leader.

Weening held off a late charge from Andreas Kloden of Germany to win the 231.5-kilometer ride (from Pforzheim, Germany to Gérardmer, France) in 5:03:54 hours.

The jury had to use a photo finish to determine the winner and Kloden was credited with the same time as Weening.

Alejandro Valverde of Spain was third, part of a pack that included Armstrong, 27 seconds off the lead. The American holds a one minute lead over Germany's Jens Voight in the overall standings. Alexandre Vinokourov of Kazakhstan is third overall, 1:02 minutes behind Armstrong.

Sunday's ninth stage is a 171-kilometer ride in the mountains with four category three climbs, one category two and the ascent of Le Ballon d'Alsace, a nine-kilometer climb at a 6.8% grade. The race ends in Paris July 24.

Some information for this report provided by AP