South African musician Johnny Clegg, who's popularly known as the 'White Zulu,' has released a new solo album, featuring a song about Zimbabwe. The CD, called "One Love", features a track critical of President Robert Mugabe's administration.  It's entitled "The Revolution will eat its children"  

In the song, Clegg specifically denounces the political and economic crisis in Zimbabwe.  In an interview with South Africa's Mail and Guardian Newspaper, Clegg states that the song is open criticism of Mugabe's government.  In the interview, Clegg adds that while culture should never be used as a weapon because that would reduce cultural value, musicians and other performers have a duty to draw attention to injustice.

In addition, Clegg says "The Revolution Will Eat its Children" is about the "inability of certain African leaders to relinquish power, despite its being time to do so."

Also, the new CD reveals that Clegg is distancing himself from South Africa's "quiet diplomacy" -- a method identified with Zimbabwe in it's political dealings with the country.

Another track with a sobering message is one called "Boy Soldier" which is a song about the plight of child soldiers.

Clegg was born in England in 1953 and raised in Zimbabwe before immigrating to South Africa at age nine.  He originally made a name for himself as a member of the group "Juluka", alongside Sipho Mchunu.

The duo sang songs denouncing the Apartheid regime and, as a result, ended up being banned by the country's state broadcaster. But they managed to achieve popularity and international acclaim as members of the group "Savuka."  Past hits include "Woza Friday", "Asimbonanga" and 'The Scatterlings of Africa."

At 53, Clegg's latest 17-track CD still features his signature blend of pop and the traditional maskandi beat. One of the new compositions on the album is the upbeat, inspirational track "Jongosi."

"One love" is Johnny Clegg's first new studio-produced album in 4 years.  It also features him singing in Afrikaans in the song  "Thamela: Die Son Trek Water".

The grammy-nominated artist's latest album, among other selections, also features the tracks "Utshani Obulele", "Day In The Life" and "Locked and Loaded."