The World Trade Organization has authorized seven countries to levy multi-million dollar sanctions on U.S. imports.

A spokesman in Geneva Friday said the European Union, India, Japan, South Korea, Brazil, Mexico and Canada can begin imposing tariffs in 2005.

The sanctions are in response to a U.S. law known as the Byrd Amendment that the WTO ruled illegal in August.  The law levies fines on products exported to the United States below market prices, and then, turns around and gives the money to the injured U.S. companies.

The European Union says it hopes Washington will comply with WTO guidelines soon to avoid making use of the authorized sanctions.

A U.S. official on Wednesday said the Bush Administration was working with Congress to make the law meet WTO criteria.

Some information for this story provided by AP and AFP.