Irish voters head to the polls Thursday to elect a new president and decide referendums on the constitution.

Political analysts say there is no clear cut frontrunner in the race between Martin McGuinness of the Sinn Fein Party, Independent Sean Gallagher, and Michael Higgins of the coalition government's Labor Party.

The winner will succeed Mary McAleese, who held the symbolic post for 14 years.

Voters will also be deciding referendums to the constitution, including one giving the government authority to cut the pay of judges and another that would grant Ireland?s parliament the authority to mount fact-finding investigations.

Some information for this report was provided by AP and Reuters.