A screen grab from the Committee to Protect Journalists website.
A screen grab from the Committee to Protect Journalists website.

The Committee to Protect Journalists is honoring correspondents from Burma, Iran, Russia, and South Africa for courageous reporting in the face of censorship, violence and possible imprisonment.

The CPJ says its 2014 International Press Freedom Awards will go to Irrawaddy newspaper founder and editor-in-chief Aung Zaw of Burma; formerly imprisoned freelance journalist Siamak Ghaderi of Iran; independent TV broadcaster Mikhail Zygar of Russia, and City Press newspaper editor Ferial Haffajee of South Africa.

CPJ said in a statement Tuesday the honorees are to be commended for taking risks to report the news at a time when journalists are confronting record levels of brutal violence and repression.  Executive Director Joel Simon said Zaw, Ghaderi, Zygar, and Haffajee are "undeterred and unbowed" and have "risked all" to report the news.

CPJ is also planning to present a lifetime achievement award to Jorge Ramos, co-anchor of Univision News since 1986.

The organization says Ramos immigrated from Mexico to the United States to avoid government interference in his work, and that he is to be commended for championing the rights of journalists in Latin America who work under dangerous conditions.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony November 25 in New York City.