Accessibility links

Breaking News

Discovery Names Armstrong's Team for Tour

The Discovery Channel Pro Cycling Team has announced the roster for this year's Tour de France, as six-time champion Lance Armstrong goes for a seventh-straight title.

Team co-owner Tailwind Sports announced that Armstrong will ride with countryman George Hincapie along with Spain's Jose Luis Rubiera and Manuel Beltran.

Czech cyclists Benjamin Noval and Pavel Padrnos will join Portugal's Jose Azevedo, Italian Paolo Savoldelli and Ukraine's Yaroslav Popovych.

The Discovery Channel team's sports manager, Johan Bruyneel, said the roster - with only two new members - brings experience and familiarity to Armstrong's bid for a seventh tour. Of the eight teammates, only George Hincapie has ridden with Armstrong in all six of his Tour wins. Rubiera rode with Armstrong in four of his victories.

The Tour de France starts July 2 in the eastern coastal town of Fromentine. The Tour ends July 24.

Some information for this report provided by AP.