Accessibility links

Breaking News

2 Americans, German Win 2005 Nobel Prize in Physics

The 2005 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to two Americans and one German for their work in the field of optics.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm announced Tuesday that American Roy J. Glauber will receive one half of the $1.3 million prize for his theoretical description of the behavior of light particles.

John L. Hall of the United States and Theodor W. Haensch of Germany will split the other half of the prize for their work in determining the color of the light of atoms and molecules with extreme precision.

The Nobel prize for medicine was presented Monday to Australian scientists Barry J. Marshall and J. Robin Warren for diagnosing the cause of stomach ulcers.

Prizes for chemistry, literature, and peace also will be announced this week. The economic prize will be announced on October 10.

Some information for this report provided by AFP and Reuters.