Accessibility links

Breaking News

Aquino Formally Declared Next Philippine President

Philippine Senator Benigno Aquino III has been formally declared the winner of the country's presidential election.

A joint session of the upper and lower chambers of Congress formally proclaimed Mr. Aquino the Philippine's 15th president Wednesday.

The president-elect won the May 10 automated elections in a landslide, garnering more than 15 million votes, while his closest challenger, ex-President Joseph Estrada, got only 9.4 million votes.

Mr. Aquino will take office on June 30, succeeding President Gloria Arroyo, whose nine-year tenure has been marred by allegations of corruption and election fraud.

He campaigned on a platform of eliminating corruption and poverty.

Mr. Aquino is the son of the late President Corazon Aquino and Senator Benigno Aquino, Jr., who was assassinated in 1983 at the Manila airportafter returning from exile in the United States to challenge the dictatorship of Ferdinand Marcos.

Some information for this report was provided by AP and AFP.