Accessibility links

Breaking News

Chicago Blackhawks Win NHL's Stanley Cup Championship

The Chicago Blackhawks pose with the Stanley Cup after beating the Boston Bruins 3-2 in Game 6 of the NHL hockey Stanley Cup Finals, June 24, 2013, in Boston.
The Chicago Blackhawks posted a 3-2 victory over the Boston Bruins Monday to win the National Hockey League's Stanley Cup championship series.

Boston was leading 2-1 with over a minute left in regulation when Chicago's Bryan Bickell and Dave Bolland scored during a 17-second span to shock the home crowd and take the best-of-seven series by a margin of four games to two. This is the Blackhawks' second Stanley Cup title in four seasons.

Patrick Kane, who led Chicago with nine goals and 19 points during the playoffs, was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy as the postseason's most valuable player.

Boston was going for its second Stanley Cup championship in three seasons, in the first matchup of the NHL's "Original Six" franchises' in the championship series since 1979.