Accessibility links

Breaking News

Novak Djokovic Wins Australian Open Tennis Men's Title

Novak Djokovic of Serbia kisses the trophy after defeating Andy Murray of Britain in during the men's singles final at the Australian Open tennis championship in Melbourne, Feb. 1, 2015.

Novak Djokovic has won his fifth Australian Open tennis Championship.

The Serb defeated Scotland's Andy Murray, 7-6(5) 6-7(4) 6-3 6-0, Sunday at Rod Laver Arena in Melbourne. The opening two sets were decided by tiebreakers, with Djokovic winning the first set and Murray the second.

Djokovic has not lost in four finals at Melbourne Park, while Murray has been runner-up four times, twice to Djokovic. It was Djokovic's eighth Grand Slam title.

American Serena Williams claimed her sixth Australian Open title Saturday by beating Russian Maria Sharapova in Melbourne.

The second set of Sunday's men's final was delayed for about five minutes after the seventh game when a court invader protesting Australia's refugee policies was removed by security. Organizers said two people were arrested.