Accessibility links

Prosecutor Puts Former Haiti Officials on Travel Ban List

  • Associated Press

FILE - Haiti's then-President Michel Martelly returns to his seat after delivering a speech in Port-au-Prince, Oct. 17, 2015. Former Haiti officials in Martelly's administration have been forbidden to leave the country in light of a report of electoral fraud.

Nine former Haitian electoral officials and 11 Cabinet ministers in former President Michel Martelly's administration have been forbidden to leave the country.

The order from prosecutor Danton Leger was issued shortly after the release of a commission's report calling for the presidential election to be redone due to the appearance of significant electoral fraud.

On Wednesday, former Prime Minister Evans Paul and ministers who served under him confirmed they are on a travel ban list.

Flanked by his lawyer, Paul said that “nobody has the right to take my freedom of movement away.'' He and other ex-ministers are seeking to have their names removed.

Justice Minister Camille Junior Edouard says the interim government had nothing to do with the prosecutor's decision.

Leger did not respond to a request for comment.