Accessibility links

Breaking News

Peyton Manning Named NFL MVP

Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning has earned the Associated Press award as the National Football League's Most Valuable Player for the second year in a row.

Manning, who tied Tennessee Titans quarterback Steve McNair for the award last year, was a nearly unanimous choice following a record-setting season. He earned 47 of 48 votes from a panel of American sports writers and broadcasters who cover the NFL. Atlanta Falcons quarterback Michael Vick got the other vote.

Manning threw for a record 49 touchdowns to break Dan Marino's 20-year-old league mark. He also bettered Steve Young's record passer rating (with a 121.1 tally) as he led the Colts to a 12-4 record and the AFC South division title.

Manning is one of just four quarterbacks -Joe Montana, John Unitas, Steve Young and Kurt Warner - with two Player of the Year awards. Brett Favre of the Green Bay Packers is the only player to win it three times.

Some information for this report provided by AP.