Accessibility links

Breaking News

Hernandez Wins Tour de France Ninth Stage

Colombian cyclist Juan Mauricio Soler Hernandez is the winner of the ninth stage of the Tour de France, with Michael Rasmussen of Denmark retaining the leader's yellow jersey after the last stage in the Alps.

The expected race contenders did not gain any ground on Rasmussen during the 159.5-kilometer course from the Val d'Isere ski station to Briancon, which Soler Hernandez covered in four hours, 14 minutes, 24 seconds. Tuesday's ride featured three difficult climbs.

Spain's Alejandro Valverde was second and Cadel Evans of Australia was third. Both were 38 seconds back. American Levi Leipheimer was seventh, 42 seconds off the pace.

Rasmussen's lead in the overall standings is two minutes, 35 seconds ahead of Valverde. Another Spaniard, Iban Mayo, is third - another four seconds back. Leipheimer is ninth, three minutes, 53 seconds off the pace.

Some information for this report provided by AP.