Accessibility links

Breaking News

Houston Wins Second Straight US Major League Soccer Title


The Houston Dynamo has repeated as champions of U.S. Major League Soccer. As VOA's Jim Stevenson reports from RFK Stadium in Washington, the Dynamo won the MLS Cup Sunday with a 2-1 comeback victory over the New England Revolution.

The MLS title game was the first to feature the same two teams from the previous MLS Cup championship. New England got on the scoreboard first with a goal by Taylor Twellman in the 20th minute. But the second half belonged to Houston.

Zimbabwean international Joseph Ngwenya got the equalizer for Houston from close range. Canadian Dwayne De Rosario's powerful 12-meter header in the 74th minute was the game-winning goal.

Houston becomes just the second MLS club to win back-to-back championships. DC United won the league's first two titles in 1996 and 1997. De Rosario also scored the game-winning goal in the 2001 MLS Cup when the franchise was known as the San Jose Earthquakes. But he says this win is bigger.

"In 2001 it was special," said De Rosario. "And I think this one is even more special because just the fact that we are the second team now to go back-to-back. And just to make history in the league again, to go back-to-back is special a moment. And I think this moment will live in our hearts forever."

This is the third straight year New England has lost in the title match.

New England defender Jay Heaps says he is disappointed with the way his team lost.

"We did not take our chances," he said. "But at the same time we have been a great defensive team during these playoffs. And I think we are a little disappointed that we let in even a scrappy goal. A great goal, you have to tip your hat. But a scrappy goal. We feel like we have defended scrappy goals all year. And to let one in is a little disheartening."

In 2005 the Revolution lost in overtime to the Los Angeles Galaxy, and last year New England also lost to Houston, beaten in a penalty kick shootout following overtime.