Accessibility links

Breaking News

US Cites 20 Countries for Illegal Drugs

The White House has released an annual list of countries the United States considers major producers or transporters of illegal drugs.

The State Department released a list of 20 countries late Tuesday.

A statement released by the department says Bolivia, Burma and Venezuela have "failed demonstrably" to meet their obligations to fight drugs as promised under international agreements.

The state department says the designation can lead to sanctions, but added President Barack Obama had issued waivers to Bolivia and Venezuela so that the U.S. can continue to support specific donor-aid programs in those countries.

The president is required by law to make the annual designation to Congress.

Other countries on the list include Afghanistan, Colombia, Mexico, Nigeria , Pakistan, the Bahamas, Brazil, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Haiti, India, Jamaica, Laos, Panama, Paraguay and Peru.

Some information for this report was provided by AFP and AP.