Accessibility links

Breaking News

Federal Government Recognizes Gay Marriages in Six More States

FILE - Gay activists are seen at a rally at the U.S. Supreme Court in Washington, D.C., June 26, 2013.

Attorney General Eric Holder announced Saturday that the federal government will now recognize same sex marriages in six more states.

They are Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, North Carolina, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

Married gay couples will now qualify for a number of federal benefits, including Social Security and veterans' benefits.

Earlier this month, the Supreme Court refused to hear appeals to lower court rulings legalizing gay marriages in those six states.

The federal government now recognizes same sex marriages in 32 states and Washington, D.C.

Holder said with each new state where such marriages are legally recognized, the U.S. moves closer to achieving full equality for all Americans.

Some information for this report comes from AP and AFP.