Accessibility links

Breaking News

16 Teams Remain in US Men's National College Basketball Tournament

Just 16 teams remain in the U.S. men's national college basketball tournament after perhaps one of the most unpredictable starts to the tournament known as March Madness.

Unheralded George Mason upset defending champion North Carolina, 65-60, Sunday to advance to the "sweet-16" and face another tournament surprise, Wichita State. Another unexpected winner was Bradley, 72-66, over Pittsburgh.

All four top regional seeds - Duke, Connecticut, Memphis and Villanova - remain in contention.

The semifinals - the so-called "Final Four" - are scheduled for Indianapolis, Indiana beginning April 1. The national champion will be crowned April 3 at the RCA Dome.

Memphis easily ousted Bucknell, 72-56. Connecticut had to work to get past Kentucky, 87-83. Villanova beat Arizona, 82-78. Also Sunday, West Virginia topped Northwestern State, 67-54. Georgetown rolled past Ohio State, 70-52. Texas was a 75-54 winner over North Carolina State. Winners on Saturday included Duke, Florida, Boston College, Washington, LSU, Gonzaga, Wichita State and UCLA.

The regional rounds will be Thursday through Sunday in Atlanta, Oakland, Minneapolis and Washington DC. They will produce the Final Four teams.

Some information for this report was provided by Reuters.