Accessibility links

Breaking News

Miami to Host 2010 Super Bowl

The National Football League has named Miami, Florida, as the site for the 2010 Super Bowl, a record 10th time the South Florida city has hosted the championship game.

Houston, Texas and Atlanta, Georgia, were the other contenders for the right to host Super Bowl 44, and team owners took three rounds of voting to decide. None of the candidates received the necessary three-quarters majority to win the bid. However, Miami - which also will host the 2007 game - was chosen by a simple majority on the third ballot.

Both Atlanta and Houston have hosted the Super Bowl twice. The 2010 game was originally awarded to New York on the condition that a new stadium be built as part of the city's Olympic bid. However, the stadium did not win government approval and the Olympic bid failed.

Three of the first five Super Bowls were in Miami. The last time the game was there was 1999. This season's Super Bowl is scheduled for Detroit, Michigan, on February 5, 2006.