Accessibility links

Breaking News

Six Named to NFL Hall of Fame

For the first time since 2001, the maximum six players have been selected for enshrinement in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. VOA's Steve Schy is covering Super Bowl 40 in Detroit and was there Saturday when the class of 2006 was announced.

The Class of 2006 was led by quarterbacks Troy Aikman and Warren Moon and the late defensive end Reggie White, the NFL's all-time sack leader (198) when he retired in 2000. All three were selected in their first year of eligibility.

Aikman led the Dallas Cowboys to three Super Bowl championships in the 1990's,while White, known as the Minister of Defense, was an ordained Baptist minister.

Warren Moon, the first modern-day African-American quarterback in the Hall, was elated. "What a great day for me and my family and all my fans," he said. "You know, to be inducted in my first year in eligibility is mind-boggling."

Also selected was All-Pro linebacker Harry Carson, while coach John Madden and Rayfield Wright made it as candidates from the seniors committee.

The Class of 2006 will be enshrined in the Hall of Fame in ceremonies this August in Canton, Ohio.