Accessibility links

Breaking News

Two Spaniards Win 12th Stage of Dakar Rally

Two Spaniards, Carlos Sainz and Isidre Esteve Pujol, have won the car and motorcycle divisions in the 12th stage of the Dakar Rally, a 484-kilometer ride between Ayoun, Mauritania and Kayes, Mali.

In the car division, Sainz, a former world champion, drove his Volkswagen through the timed section in 2:58:56. Carlos Sousa of Portugal in another Volkswagen was second, 03:53 back. Defending champion Luc Alphand of France was third in a Mitsubishi (04:52 back).

Mitsubishi driver Stephane Peterhansel of France retained the overall lead, 06:29 ahead of Alphand.

In the motorcycle division, Pujol rode his KTM to the win in 3:34:46. Paulo Goncalves of Portugal on a Honda was second, 03:03 back. Spain's Marc Coma remains the overall leader nearly one hour ahead of Cyril Despres of France. Both are riding KTMs.

The Rally heads into Senegal Friday with a 458-kilometer ride from Kayes to Tambacounda that includes a 260-kilometer timed stage. The Rally ends Sunday in Dakar, Senegal.

Some information for this report provided by Reuters and AFP.