Accessibility links

Breaking News

Pintusevich-Block Becomes New World's Fastest Woman

There is a new world's-fastest-woman, as Zhanna Pintusevich-Block of Ukraine defeated American Marion Jones in the 100-meters race at the World Athletics championships in Edmonton, Canada.

Marion Jones had dominated the women's 100-meters at the world championships for four years. She was going for her third straight world title Monday. However, on a clear day in Edmonton, Zhanna Pitnusevich-Block of Ukraine passed the American sprinter to win in :00:10.82.

The Ukrainian - who lost to Jones by fractions of a second in 1997 - says winning the title is the end of a long, hard quest. "Everything I put into the sport and it just the dream came true and so I was thinking about this since 1997 and it finally just happened," she said.

Jones says she cannot be disappointed with her time of :00:10.85, because Pintusevich-Block ran an excellent race. " I felt like my spring was there. I thought my reaction was very good. It broke down a little bit in the middle of the race," she said. " But I do not think there are any other factors to contribute to a bit slower times this year."

The bronze medal went to Ekaterini Thanou of Greece.

American Stacy Dragila won the women's pole vault gold medal by clearing 4m 75. Russia's Svetlana Feofanova took the silver and Poland's Monika Pyrek won the bronze. Britain's Jonathan Edwards captured the men's triple jump world championship with a distance of 17m 92.

Christian Olsson of Sweden won the silver and Igor Spasovkhodskiy of Russia took the bronze.

In the women's javelin, Cuba's Osleidys Menendez won the gold medal, with the silver going to Mirela Manjani-Tzelili and Cuba's Sonia Bisset winning the bronze.

Avard Moncur won the men's 400-meters gold medal with Ingo Schultz of Germany taking the silver and Gregory Haughton of Jamaica taking the bronze.

Five of the seven gold medals Tuesday are in women's events including the long jump, the 400-meters, the 1500 meters, the hammer and the 10,000 meters. The men's 800-meters champion and the decathlon champion will also be crowned.